I’m A Grandmother Again!

Dana, Chris and Mackenzie received a called on March 23rd about a precious little girl that was born was born in Nevada, on March 5th; she weighed 6lb 2ozs and was 18 inches long.

We all were on pins and needles waiting for the birthmother to make a decision on who would become her daughter’s adoptive parents. A decision was made a few weeks later and on April 9th, Riley Renee was placed in our daughter’s arms.

My granddaughter Mackenzie is such a wonderful big sister, Riley smiles and watches her every move.

This grandma would like to say thank you to two mothers who made the hardest decision to place their child up for adoption, a decision made out of unselfish love that affected so many people.

Please know our granddaughters are cherished and greatly loved.

Your act of love, not only completed my daughter’s family, it completed the lives of grandparents, uncles, aunts, and friends.

Please know that you are both loved and in my prayers, one day our paths will cross, and our family tree will become bigger connected by two little branches.

(Visit the link “My Daughter Dana” to see one of the first pictures of the happy family)

16 Responses to “I’m A Grandmother Again!”


  1. 1 Dana April 26, 2011 at 2:54 am

    Mom, just have to say that when I read your post I start to cry. I’m so excited that our family is complete and that you and dad are able to enjoy them and play such an important role in their lives. You and dad are awesome grandparents, as well as parents to Paul and I. We are all lucky to have you both. XOXOXO

  2. 3 Barbara April 26, 2011 at 8:30 am

    Nancy, this brought on the tears for me, too. Such a wonderful act on the birth mother’s part and on the part of Dana’s family. Truly wonderful.
    Congrats to all of you.

    • 4 Nancy August 23, 2011 at 3:41 pm

      Thank you Barbara and congratulations on your great news. I still can’t get over the fact that you’re going to be a great grandma.

      • 5 Barbara August 23, 2011 at 3:53 pm

        Dang woman! where have you been??!! It’s been months!

        Yep! I’ll be a great grandma in one more month. We know it’s going to be a boy and everything is going well for baby and Mama!

      • 6 Nancy August 23, 2011 at 3:59 pm

        I know it’s a boy but what name did they decide on? She had a list of five.

      • 7 Barbara August 23, 2011 at 4:16 pm

        Oh! I forgot you knew that! They’re calling him Connor Lee! Love it!

      • 8 Nancy August 23, 2011 at 4:28 pm

        Conner Lee what a beautiful name…

        Well I’m back, I’ve been struggling for the last few months, the stresses of being a caregiver just got the better of me.

      • 9 Barbara August 23, 2011 at 4:35 pm

        I’m glad you’re back! I’ve missed your posts. I can’t talk, though, I haven’t posted on ‘My Place’ since then. Since moving out and being on my own, I don’t have much to write about. As for Mom’s escapades, it’d be more of the same– rarely anything new or interesting.

        The only site I post on regularly is my 3B Digital Art site once a week.

        I’ll be watching for new posts from you! 🙂

      • 10 Barbara August 23, 2011 at 4:37 pm

        Oops! Forgot! I understand the stress of caregiving. You probably did need a break, I’m sure!

  3. 11 BFF April 26, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Well, it has happened, what you all have been praying for for so long. God bless this wonderful family, and also the birth mother’s for giving such a precious gift. These children are going to have all the love and care a child could ever want in a family. Love to you all.

    Your BFF I feel like a new grandma too!

    • 12 Nancy August 23, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      Now how wonderful is this you’re going to be a grandmother again!!!

      Wow, Nancy seven grandchildren your kids need hobbies (just kidding).

      I am sooo happy for you but even happier for the new baby because he or she will have the best grandma ever…. Hugs and Kisses your BFF

  4. 13 Nilda June 1, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Congrats to you and your family. Send me a note some time. We miss you.

    • 14 Nancy August 23, 2011 at 4:49 pm

      Nilda, I think of you and your family often.

      Let’s see Dylan must be in his first year of high school, Bryan must be in fourth grade and Adrian in first or second?

      I do try to keep up with your blogs, but sometimes it’s just easier for me to check out for a while and recoup.

      Talk to you soon.

  5. 15 Muriel Hahn July 15, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Congratulations to all of you. Such great news for your families. Mackenzie has gotten so big and too soon enough, Riley will too.

    • 16 Nancy August 23, 2011 at 4:13 pm

      Thank you Muriel.

      Your right Mackenzie is growing up so fast, she is such a great help with Riley. She loves her new role as big sister.


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,469 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

