Call Me Anything But Trashy

Remember the old saying “sticks and stones can break my bones, but names will never hurt me?” Well, this is true, the way I see it if what your saying about me is true then it can’t hurt me, and if what your saying is a lie who cares you’re a liar and your opinion of me doesn’t matter one bit, to me or the people who know me. Which reminds me of another old saying “liars never prosper” because liars will eventually be found out.

So you can call me anything, well just about anything, just don’t call me trashy.

We’ve all heard about the environmental activist Ed Begley Jr. He’s the one who is always showing up to an event riding a bicycle, his home is powered by solar energy, and he has earned numerous awards from prestigious environmental groups for his work in the environmental community. If you’ve never heard of him, Google and learn.

Now for those of you who don’t know me I’m also married to an environmental activist he like Mr. Begley tries to do his part for our environmental future, but understandably my husband’s contribution is smaller, since he has a fulltime job being married to me.

My husband has a bike, which he’s planning on riding once he gets a helmet (per me) because of drivers like me.

My house has mostly CFL lighting inside and LED lighting outside, I also have high efficiency appliances.

We have drip watering systems outside.

My husband has always recycled like everyone else, with the paper, plastic and metal bins at our curb, a couple of barrels and or bags of normal trash, or trash trash as I call it, and a barrel of green trash. No problem, until now.

Aside, from my mom’s diapers, I have no trash… Yes, you heard me I have no trash…

Every bit of trash that goes out at my house is screened twice once inside and once outside. All newspaper, paper, mail shredded or intact, paper towels or toilet rolls, every box, every plastic water bottle, milk carton, every plastic bag, bread bags, produce bags, every piece of metal, foil, pie dishes, hair pins, etc are placed for recycle. All produce leftovers, banana peels, lettuce, carrots, tomatoes etc goes to Chris for his red worm composter. Seriously the only thing you can depend on being in my trash is Depends.

Yes, he is making sure that we are doing our part for the environment. He is making sure that he is driving me nuts, second guessing what goes into the trash or gets recycled. Our kids are enjoying watching their dad drive me nuts, however on a few occasions he’s been known to pull stuff out of their trash to get it into the right barrel.

He also has gone so far, as to give other peoples trash (wayward items found in parking lots) a free ride to our bins.

I even have a tinge of jealousy when I see my husband jump up when he hears the trash truck so he can help set up the barrels and then give them a soda; it’s like watching him having a first date every Friday.

So, I have learned to live my life like the rich and famous; be aware of what goes in the barrel, because the paparazzi (my husband) is lurking somewhere on the quiet street just waiting for tiniest bit of wayward trash.

4 Responses to “Call Me Anything But Trashy”


  1. 1 Barbara November 28, 2010 at 9:14 am

    It’s great, though maddening to you, that he does that. I should. I really should.

  2. 2 Nancy November 30, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Yes, we all should be better. But he’s so good at it that I figure he’s picked up the slack for people like us.

    It’s been awhile on http://seniorsafari.blogspot.com/

    • 3 Barbara December 1, 2010 at 8:42 am

      I know. It’s just too hard to find the alone time to be able to write anything. However, I move to my own place in 2 weeks– one mile down the road from Mom– and I’m going to try to post more often on Senior Safari starting the first of the year. Yay!!


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,490 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

