California Proposition 19, Legalization Of Marijuana

Let me start off my saying my husband and I don’t smoke, drink and have never done any type of drugs. But today I will be giving you my opinion of California Proposition 19, the Marijuana Legalization Initiative (2010) which would tax and regulate marijuana for adults over 21 years old.

Now this issue has been on the ballots before and has failed. Still you have some that will keep pushing until the results are what they want, legalization.

Now I’m sure marijuana has its benefits for people who are ill, and I for one say if it can ease ones pain then they should be prescribed the drug or drugs that can help. But for the ones who want it because they want to get high I say hold on we have enough problems already.

Now I’m not naïve, I have friends and relatives who smoke the stuff, with no problems I’m not going to say I’m fine with it, but at least they are responsible enough to use it in their home and not out in public.

I’m worried about the ones (and there will be plenty) who will use it anytime and anyplace, you know the ones that already have fewer brain cells then normal people.

My husband and I bought our first home when I was twenty-one, by the time I was thirty-four we were building our dream home. It was perfect until our neighbors sold their home to such an individual.

Our neighbor is an idiot. When his first child was an infant and would cry he would place him in the car on the driveway so his crying wouldn’t disturb him in the house. That stopped when the neighbors called the police. Then he would place him in an outside lanai until again the police would show up. He would take his child out for a ride by placing him on a flat wagon tied to a bike, once he would start off the kid would fly off like cracking the whip, His wife stopped that after seeing the neighbors coming out.

He has been outside wearing leotards and a tutu, a Samurai outfit including swords and cowboy attire just to name a few of his outfits.

He barely works, his wife assumed the responsibility earning a living and raising the kids who are now in middle school and high school.

How did this happen, my guess drugs? I came to this conclusion after a few years of not getting along with him due to his odd behavior, his dog running loose his attempt of keeping a rooster, geese etc.

Years ago Chris mentioned that the neighbor was growing marijuana in the backyard. So I called the police;

“Temple City Sheriffs station.”
“Hi, I’d like to report that my neighbor is growing marijuana.”
“Can you see it form the street?”
“No.”
“Then we can’t help you, our officers need to be able to see it from the street.”
“What?”
“We can’t go onto private property to check.”
“Well, send an officer anyway; I think there’s a burglar in my backyard.”

When they arrived to check out my yard, I glanced over to my neighbors and said;

“What’s that?”
“Looks like your neighbor has a few marijuana plants.”

It was only two plants, that were huge, taller and wider then I was, the sheriff asked to borrow our shovel and dug up the plants. I don’t know what the outcome of it was. He now has hedges so I can’t see over.

Now, while these all happened years ago, its people like him that I worry about. He doesn’t drive his wife’s car because he always involved in accidents. Could it be that he drives while under the influence? I don’t know. I just know his reaction time and ability to think always seems clouded.

So I will vote NO on proposition 19, knowing good and well people will still smoke marijuana whether or not it’s legal. An example; in California the drinking age is twenty-one how’s that working out? So now let’s start treating marijuana more like alcohol.

Like drinking after using marijuana, the user will feel intoxicated; have some loss of coordination, poor sense of balance and a slower reaction time. Now let’s add a two ton car.

Some of you will not agree with me, I don’t really care. I realize people will still use the stuff, heck if it would make my mom nicer I’d bake her a brownie. It’s just that in my opinion legalizing would open up a whole bunch of new problems.

So if you’re already using it responsibly fine I don’t want to hear about it. But if pot is legalized by the State of California and you’re an idiot my next call will be to the Feds because after all the state can’t regulate a Federal Offense.

12 Responses to “California Proposition 19, Legalization Of Marijuana”


  1. 1 Barbara August 1, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Whoa! Well, this can be a touchy subject. So many patients with glaucoma and other diseases benefit greatly from the use of marijuana so I see it as a good thing BUT it still needs to be regulated– perhaps by prescription only.

    I’ve been around many who smoke it and all are laid back, kind, hard working, and responsible. I’ve never seen one wear a tutu! I think your neighbor has more serious problems than marijuana– heavier drugs or brain damage??? 😉

  2. 2 Nancy August 1, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    I agree for those who medically need it, I would even consider it for my mom if it would help with the eating issue. I also have friends and relatives who are very responsible and hard working who will occasionally use marijuana in the privacy of their own home no problem; I’m not naïve I know that people will use marijuana whether it’s legal or not, my problem is why would we consider legalizing something that can alter ones mind just for revenue? I view marijuana as the kindergarten of drugs, saying NO might stop someone from starting school. Gotta roll.

  3. 3 Margie August 11, 2010 at 10:11 am

    I agree with Barbara about your neighbor, I think he may have been a couple bricks shy of a full load. 🙂

  4. 6 Margie August 12, 2010 at 10:01 am

    His elevator doesn’t/didn’t go to the top floor either. 🙂

  5. 7 Barbara August 12, 2010 at 10:19 am

    He was an apple short of a bushel! 😀

  6. 8 Margie August 13, 2010 at 7:09 am

    He’s a half a bubble off plumb.

    • 9 Nancy August 16, 2010 at 4:28 pm

      Ok, both of you are too funny. I had only heard the idioms like, he’s not the sharpest pencil in the box or the lights are on but nobody’s home. But I now feel the need to keep up with you two. So here it goes, the wheel might be spinning but the hamster is dead and his cord is too short to reach the outlet.
      Margie you could hold your own with Barbara and she’s a pro at short sayings you should check out one of her blogs, http://mousemusings-bbb.blogspot.com/
      Barbara, it’s about time you posted on http://seniorsafari.blogspot.com/ it had been since June 1st.

  7. 10 Barbara August 16, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    This is too much fun! Nancy, you had a new one for me– “his cord is too short to reach the outlet” — good one!

    Thanks for the links, that makes me happy! I know I should post on SS more often but was suffering some caregiver burnout and didn’t want to post depressing things. Hopefully, I’ll find more to post about soon.

  8. 11 Margie August 17, 2010 at 6:40 am

    He’s not playing with a full deck.
    Oh, and I have read Babara’s blog. I started with her chronicles on abuse. I think that’s how I found your site. Keep posting.

  9. 12 BFF August 24, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    OK! Enough already. Write something new. WE ARE WAITING for your usual wit and laughs.


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

