Tattooed Mommy

I had many assumptions about the type of people that get tattoos. It’s probably just me and my age, but to me people that get more than one or large tattoos are usually bikers, gangsters (yes gangsters) bad boys, or people who are just rebellious. I sweated out my kids teen years no tats (pretty hip, huh) no piercings, now they’re in their mid to late thirties and I can (hopefully) breathe a sigh of relief. 

Well I pretty much know all my kids friends, all are middle to upper class with young families, all appear to be clean as a whistle. 

Well my daughters friend Nik is a doll, a perfect mom and wife, every time I have seen or visited with her she is just as sweet as can be, her kids are very respectful and well mannered and her husband is also a good guy in my book. I’m glad that the two families are friends. 

Well, Dana had previously met Nik’s cousin Bufi, and has been talking about how she gets along with her just like Nik, I’m happy to see Dana’s circle of friends getting bigger. 

The three families had planned to get together on the fourth for swimming, barbeque and fireworks, since my mom’s pool is bigger, that’s were they would swim and barbeque, then go to our house for fireworks. 

Dana wasn’t able to do much as she was still recuperating from a slip and fall at Target the week before. But it appeared that Nik had every thing under control. I let Dana know I wouldn’t be home until later but dad would be there to help, just have fun and enjoy themselves. That’s when Dana said; 

“I just wanted to let you know that Bufi and her husband have tattoos, a piercing and their son has a Mohawk.”
“WHAT!”
“Mom get over your ideas about tattoos Bufi is just as nice as her cousin Nik and you really like Nik.”  

This is true, but the whole time I was at my aunt’s I was thinking how not to look shocked at the tattoos, piercing or the Mohawk. 

When I pulled up at the house I saw Dana’s SUV, Nik’s minivan and another really nice SUV, but it can’t be Bufi’s after all someone with tats and piercings wouldn’t be caught dead in a family looking vehicle, wouldn’t they want to maintain their rebellious look over to their vehicle? Something in black, dark tinted windows, fancy wheels, maybe a shocking decal, nothing just a really nice (expensive) SUV with fancy wheels. 

So I’m prepared to meet Bufi, her husband and their son with a Mohawk. I took a deep breath and went outside. I see Nik, Jeff their kids and another nice looking couple. Well I guess Nik’s cousin didn’t come over after all, until I got closer. 

Dave, Bufi’s husband was a nice looking man, I’m sure he had tattoos but I didn’t see any at first and I didn’t want to scan him like an x-ray machine gone mad, so I turned to Bufi and I must say I was surprised, pleasantly surprised, she had one arm tattooed with what appeared to be flowers and the other arm had what appeared to be a ring of X’s and hearts, she also had a small nose ring. I guess I expected something gaudy and shocking but in the grand scheme of things it was tastefully done. 

I talked for a few minutes, told them what I had expected and laughed because I looked tougher then they did, and as far as their son’s Mohawk you could hardly tell. My husband and I spent the rest of the day going in and out for a few minutes at a time, and decided they were OK in our books. 

I will say this Fourth of July my daughter taught me a lesson “you can’t judge a book by its cover”, you need to take a deeper, closer look because the value of someone is not always obvious from what we see on the surface so we must save our judgment until hell freezes over, just kidding until we get to know them. 

Nik and Jeff, Paul and I had fun visiting with you and the kids, come over anytime for a swim, and yes bring your CRAZY, FUN cousin Bufi and her family with you. 

And guess what, my circle of friends just got bigger.

4 Responses to “Tattooed Mommy”


  1. 1 Barbara July 8, 2010 at 9:04 am

    I’m glad it all worked out and that you made new friends!
    Yes, most ‘older’ people tend to think the same way you do when it comes to tattoos, etc. I used to, also.

    Then, at my job, I worked with many high school and college girls who worked part-time on the weekends. All of them had tattoos and piercings and they were all high middle class and sweet, smart girls with great attitudes and work ethics.

    My daughter and oldest granddaughter have tattoos and piercings that are fairly subtle.

    It’s such an everyday trend/fad now that I don’t think twice about it anymore. You have to go by their actions and how good their hearts are– not how their body is decorated. 🙂

    • 2 Nancy July 31, 2010 at 3:20 pm

      Sorry it’s taken a long time to get back to you, I’ve been super busy with my mom and aunt, plus Paul and I went to the river for a few days of R&R.
      Wow, since writing about tattoos quite a few of my friends have come out and shared their tats with me. Just think if I would have gotten a tattoo of a rose on any part of my body when I was younger by now it would be a long stem

  2. 3 Nik July 8, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Nancy,

    I absolutely love your blog and adore you!!! You are one of the sweetest ladies I’ve ever known and you constantly have me laughing. I am so happy to have you in my life and I’m grateful to have Dana as one of my best friends. You are both truly amazing. XOXO Nik

  3. 4 Nancy July 31, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Nik, please don’t tell anyone but you are one of my favorites when it comes to Dana’s friends and it has nothing to do with you being tattoo or pierce less. Love Nancy


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,490 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

