The Second Time Around

A few of my husband’s friends who are also retired occasionally meet for breakfast. Paul and I are the youngest in the group. There are two other married couples, a newly married friend who has been unable to come due to illness and a widower named Warren. My blog today is about Warren, and his new love Betty.

Now Warren is the life of the party, always joking and always flirting, which I enjoy because l really like him. Well last year he reconnected with “the one that got away,” his first wife Betty.

Paul met Betty a few months ago when Warren was in the hospital. When he came home I started in on him

“Was she pretty?”
“She’s nice looking.”
“That’s not what I asked, is she pretty?”
“I didn’t notice because I was busy talking with her and Warren.”
“So your answer is really yes, she is pretty you just don’t want to get into trouble by noticing another pretty woman.”
“No, I really didn’t notice, but she is really nice and easy to talk to.”
“Right.”
 

So a few months later, Warren is up and around and we made plans to get together for breakfast, as luck would have it no other couple was able to make it so it ended up being just us, Warren and the other woman Betty.

They pulled up outside the restaurant just before us, I was nervous after all I would no longer have Warren’s attention. Questions were going through my mind, is she thin? Is she really as nice as Paul said, is she going to fit in the group? Will this be the end of all of us getting together?

Well, they got out of the car, she was thin, about my height, thin, wearing shorts, and did I say thin.

I greeted Warren with a hug and kiss, secretly wanting to strangle him, couldn’t he have found someone who looked like a grandmother, I turned to Betty and we greeted each other with a hug.

When they walked into the restaurant they were holding hands, when Warren talked to her he looked so happy and in love, every time he said something to her he’d wink, it was clear to see Warren was in love, I’ve been replaced.

It ended up, that I too liked Betty, we talked and laughed I was even thinking about when could we get together next. She is thirteen years my senior but you couldn’t tell she looked and acted liked she was in her mid fifties, this will work. Until she said;

 
“I like to paint.”
“Really oil or water color?”
“Neither I just like to paint.”
“Well what kind of painting?”
“The inside and outside of the house.”
“Your kidding you paint the outside of the house?”
“Yes and the inside.”

I hoping Paul didn’t hear a word, but it got worse.

“I also like working in the yard.”
“Like a vegetable garden?”
“No, plants and flowers, landscaping. I also like working and cleaning out the garage.”
 
OMG, I’ve gone forty-three years without lifting a brush, roller, a shovel, touching dirt and only go into the garage to do the laundry. What is with this woman saying, Paul is listening to every word. Then I heard someone that sounded like me:

 “Shut up!”
“What?”(She’s laughing)
“No, really shut up, are you purposely trying to start something.”
(Still laughing)
“Keep it up and I’ll call you “B” and it won’t stand for Betty.”
(Still laughing).

We turned our conversation to grandkids and our guys, everything fell into place. I gave Warren my stamp of approval, and I hope he doesn’t blow it, she’s definitely a keeper.

The whole situation of Warren and Betty reminded me of two sayings:

If you love something set it free, if it comes back to you it’s yours forever, and go for the happy endings, because life doesn’t have any sequels.

7 Responses to “The Second Time Around”


  1. 1 Betty July 2, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Yes the Second time around is worth the risk so go for it if you get the chance. Some times you meet someone and they make you feel like you have known them for a long time, I hope I now have a BFF
    and look forward to our next outing Keep the Blog going I really enjoy reading them Betty

  2. 3 Barbara July 3, 2010 at 8:04 am

    How sweet! I hope all works out well for them!
    Nancy, you are too funny! I’ve never painted the outside of a house, either, but I have gardened– veggies only– so I’m with you on that.

    Life has no sequels? WHAT? You mean I don’t get to try this again, in another life, and maybe get it right that time? Oh no!!!

  3. 6 Margie July 5, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Well, I don’t garden or paint the outside nor the inside of my house. I barely clean it. And then, only sometimes. 🙂

  4. 7 Nancy July 5, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Margie, my sister we must have been separated at birth.:)


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

