Memorial Day

Today is Memorial Day, a day of remembrance for those who have died in our nation’s service.

Memorial Day and Veterans Day (the day to honor all veterans) are what I refer to as my dad’s days, on these two holidays we honor those who served and for those who gave the ultimate sacrifice so we may have the freedom that we have today.

So today, I’d like to share my dad’s story that was done by the University of Texas at Austin, U.S. Latino & Latina World War II, Oral History Project back in March of 2002.

This interview means a lot to me because my father was of Italian descent, however he had helped so many of his Latino brothers over the years at the V.A., that they honored him by including him in the project.

You can read my dad’s story that was included in the project.

So for all the Veterans who have served or are now serving, “Thank you for your Honorable service to our Country.”

My father passed away on January 13th 2007 at the age of eighty-one.

Nancy

4 Responses to “Memorial Day”


  1. 1 Your BFF May 31, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Nancy,

    God bless your Dad for all he did for our country. He was a great man and he sure loved you. He is looking down from heaven with a smile on his face. Thank you for reminding us all of the sacrifices our veterans have made to keep our country free. God Bless America…..and you too, Nancy.

    Love from your BFF

    • 2 Nancy June 3, 2010 at 8:37 am

      Nancy, you know my dad loved you a too. It was him, who would remind me you have a lot of acquaintances but only a few good friends and you hold the title of my BFF. :))

  2. 3 Barbara June 1, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Such a brave man, Nancy! You have every right to be proud of him. I’m sure you miss him terribly.
    Great tribute to him and others who have served.


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

