Love Is In The Air

It started off in the air, when my husband handed me a Hoops & Yoyo card. For those of you who are not familiar with Hoops & Yoyo their a pair of animated characters on Hallmark cards that tend to yell and get overly excited. So in the air I open the card to be greeted by these characters talking fast and telling knock knock jokes, in the card my husband wrote Hau Oli La Makuahine Me Ke Aloha Pumeana, which he translated to Just for you with the warmth of my love, or at least that’s what we think means.

So picture this older handsome man with this older plus sized woman with the obnoxious card and seeing him give her a few loving kisses. I’m sure people were thinking maybe their a widow and widower who after all these years found love with each other. Little did they know that we’ve been together since we were fifteen and seventeen, what’s the old saying, “there may be snow on the roof, but there’s still fire in the furnace.” Well let’s just say Paul’s pilot light was on.

During the flight Paul would off and on hold my hand, rub my shoulders and would occasionally give me the smoochie face. While Paul has always been very loving and attentive he was being very touchy feely on the plane, was it just that we were finally alone or was it a ruse to throw everyone off in case I fell into the volcano this was a valid question, after all we’ve been together so long. But then I remembered I’ve always been a hot chick, so I just sat back and enjoyed all the attention.

Once we landed and started out on our little trips it finally dawned on me, all this attention was to make me feel guilty if I started to complain. Paul dragged my sorry ass everywhere and he did it in a way that I couldn’t say anything. Since I’m still using a cane he would drop me off and pick me up at all the entrances. He made sure there was always somewhere that I could sit, yes some would say a perfect gentleman or was he just smarter than me, he wasn’t giving me anything to complain about. Yes, he’s good.

But there was something he couldn’t change the humidity, finally something I could complain about. Humidity is hard on everyone, once you start sweating you’re uncomfortable and it affects everything especially when you’re plus size. My shirt was constantly damp and Paul was looking at me like I was in a wet t-shirt contest, I couldn’t win, this was our second honeymoon and nothing was going to ruin it.

Everyday we took a long drive; we ate in restaurants that received ono’s in the Ultimate Hawaii book. We saw Polynesian dancers, we listened to live slack key guitar and saw a children’s hula show. We saw very few geckos, enjoyed the mongoose at the brewery and on this trip saw no centipedes, we did have a wonderful time.

I know Dana was worried she kept saying she was too old for a new brother or sister, but that didn’t stop me I was still trying to get one of the dancers in my luggage.

Now were back home, my jeans are a little looser from all the sweating but I’m sure by the time I finish my glass of ice water I’ll plump right back up.
A hui hou. (See you later).

6 Responses to “Love Is In The Air”


  1. 1 Barbara May 23, 2010 at 10:34 am

    You sound like a newlywed couple! How sweet of Paul to be so attentive and considerate of everything to keep you comfy!

    What a great vacation! I’m happy you got away, relaxed, and yourselves! You surely needed it!

    Now, where is MY vacation? It seems to have got lost in the shuffle of life. Boo-hoo.

    • 2 Nancy May 26, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Remember your Joan River’s quote on; mousemusings-bbb.blogspot.com, as soon as I find that key, you’ll be on a vacation

  2. 3 Margie May 24, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Sounds great.

  3. 5 karend819 July 10, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Hey nancy, been sitting here reading some of your blogs,remembering lots of things…RioVista, Karla getting hit by car near your house, Gary’s yellow Malibu (great car!), 8th grade graduation dance, Arroyo, fun times! Paul always was such a sweetheart! We all loved him! Sounds like he still is! So glad I found Dana on FB. Been great getting to see what that tiny baby has become! Know you are proud of her and “little” Paul! Congrats on your upcoming 40th!

  4. 6 Nancy July 31, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Hi Karen, welcome to my blog. When I remember the old days and fun times, your family always comes to my mind. Your mom was the greatest and I think of her often. I know she was proud of you, Karla and Tommy. Say hi to your dad and the rest of the family. Love Nancy


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

