Just A Little Soap, Just A little Water

Ever since my mom’s doctor told her she needed to go to an assisted living facility my mom’s disposition has changed. It’s been about six weeks since she’s called me or my husband a name. She has had a few mini tantrums but the full blown ones have stopped.
Every once in awhile I remind her it’s me keeping her home, if she feels she can longer behave she’s just a moment away from being taken to “the home”. Life has been good, not perfect but good.

Well, I’ve been doing the best not to control everything, she doesn’t like is to be told when things need to be done or for me to do something before she thinks it should be done.

My mom doesn’t use the tub/shower in her bathroom she prefers to use the stall shower in the extra bathroom, so her tub has become her personal hamper.

Well, the other day I couldn’t stand it any longer she has a few robes but tends to favor two in particular the green robe has been in the tub for over a month so everyday she’s been wearing the mauve one. This morning her robe looked like she’d been hit in the chest with a shotgun blast or had a horrible nose bleed, I almost called CSI to have forensics done to see who blood it was. It was splattered all down the front of her robe; it couldn’t be her blood no one could lose that much and still be walking. I watched her as she sat down to have her (two) Ensures. There it was the answer, I saw her transfer the straw from the first bottle to the second she splattered Ensure everywhere; the chocolate on the mauve gave the appearance of blood. I usually say nothing and just wait until she’s ready for me to do her wash today was different her robe was filthy.

“Mom, what’s all over your robe?”
“Stains.”
“Mom, that’s not stains it’s your Ensure we need to wash your robe.”
“We don’t need to do anything; my robe is clean their stains.”
“Mom, you’ve been wearing that robe for over a month, it’s dirty.”
“It’s not dirty, it stained. I wouldn’t be wearing it if was dirty.”
“Whatever, lets wash it with the green one.”
“Wash your own clothes; you’re the one that’s dirty.”

So she draped her robe over her dresser to wear later, I picked it up along with the green one to wash and guess who following me down the hall yaking away.

“Where are you taking my robes?”
“To the wash.”
“Their not dirty, there stained, and you don’t know how to wash anyway.”
“Mom, calm down I’m putting your robes into the biohazard unit adding soap and water, if their stains they’ll be fresher stains and if their just dirty they’ll come out like new.”
“You can’t tell a stain from dirty, you’ll see I’m right.”

“Mom, here’s your robes.”
“They were stains, right?”
“No mom, they were dirty.”
“They weren’t dirty.”
“Your right they were filthy.”
“You’re filthy,”

Knowing that this would continue back and forth I turned to leave, and guess who was just a few steps behind.

“They were stains, what did you put on them,”
“Water and soap.”
“What else?”
“Nothing else water and soap.”
“No you did something else what was it?”
“Well I did have help; it was either a stain angel or a real pretty bio hazard tech that had wings.”
“Real funny.”

3 Responses to “Just A Little Soap, Just A little Water”


  1. 1 Barbara March 2, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Oh my!! My Mom’s just the opposite! She thinks if there are 2 changes of clothes in the hamper that it constitutes a full load and insists on running the washer. I try to tell her the washer will hold a lot more than that but she says “Not my washer, it only holds so much!”
    Hmmm, I’ve washed a full load in it and it worked just fine! She almost had a heart attack when I washed a blanket in it! It was going to ruin her washer!
    Jeesh! What ya gonna do?

  2. 2 Nancy March 6, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Barbara I wonder what will be like when were their ages.

  3. 3 Barbara March 6, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Oh Nancy, I’m sure we’ll be just as bad–if not worse!! 😉


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

