Chuck E. Cheese and Valentines Day

On Valentines Day Mackenzie was invited to their neighbor’s birthday party at Chuck E. Cheese, well since Dana and Chris were still in Florida grandpa and grandma were the designated party goers. I was actually looking forward to seeing Dana’s neighbors because they are what I call “good people”.

Since I’m still using a cane grandpa dropped me and Mac off by the door so I wouldn’t have to walk very far. Now I’ve taken Mac to Chuck E. Cheese before but it was during the school year when she was in preschool and on both occasions it was relatively empty just a few stay at home mom’s with preschoolers.

Well, I opened the door expecting very few people after all it was Valentines Day and the Chinese New Year. What a shock! There were thousands (ok maybe not thousands) of kids and their parents. I had to use the cane to make room to walk, by that time Paul caught up with us, and went ahead to find the party. Fifteen minutes later I sat down, we couldn’t find anyone, I tried to call Dana thinking I got the wrong day, then finally I saw where they were sitting.

They had reserved two large tables I sat at the end so all the young people could sit with their kids and visit, finally another grandma came, then an old neighbor who had older kids so they sat near me and I had a nice time visiting.

Unfortunately I felt bad for Paul, not only was the crowd overwhelming he had security duty watching Mac crawl through multi colored tubes high in the air, they had clear plastic windows every few feet so you could watch your little hamsters (oops I mean children) go back and forth. Now I know the tubes were hot because Mac came out totally wet from sweat. So I figure the plastic windows were for the paramedics to know where to break in and rescue the kids who collapse from heat exhaustion.

While sitting there they started to bring out pizzas, hot wings, salads and drinks, it was a little early for us to eat so we weren’t really hungry, but again the company was nice and I was enjoying myself. Finally I thought I would try a slice of pizza when I saw a huge, I mean huge rat come out of the kitchen I dropped the pizza, people started yelling and clapping, it was deafening Chuck E! Chuck E! The people behind me were screaming then I realized it was Mr. Cheese or Chuck E. as everyone was calling him.

When people are excited to see a six foot rat come out of a kitchen its time for us to leave. We said our goodbyes and started out the door only to be stopped to see if were leaving with the same hamster we came in with.

Stepping off the curb I turned and saw the placard with an A rating for cleanliness. With that many hamsters and a giant rat, they must pay off the inspectors.

5 Responses to “Chuck E. Cheese and Valentines Day”


  1. 1 Barbara February 19, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Oh, I know what you mean! I used to take the grans to that noisy, horrendous place filled with various sized rugrats. The noise level was deafening!
    No more of that for me!

  2. 2 Nancy February 21, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Exactly, I won’t be going back either, next time Dana and Chris can go.
    It’s so strange for me when you talk about your “grans” in my mind I think your the same age as my daughter. 🙂

  3. 4 Margie February 22, 2010 at 9:39 am

    I did that once too, grandson’s birthday. While I enjoyed watching the grandkids have a good time, I knew, it was the last time for me. That’s their department from now on.

  4. 5 Nancy February 23, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Margie, I’m with you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

