UP, UP AND AWAY UNITED, OOPS HAWAIIAN AIRLINES

Well, here we are again, booking a trip to Hawaii, but this time it’s just me and my hubby. For our fortieth wedding anniversary were going in May instead of August for two reasons it’s cheaper and less crowded.

Paul wanted to go back to Kona; his reasons are that we didn’t explore enough of the island last September. He’s been going through travel books looking for out of the way places to eat and explore. Ok, my husband doesn’t get it I’m plus size I don’t need to find more places to eat, and if I like to explore I wouldn’t be plus size.

Ok, I’m happy to be going to Kona, but Kona equals lava, lava everywhere. I really like Kauai and Maui but been there and done that, so Kona it is.

My husband is picking up vibes that I’m not as excited as he is, I am but there are a few things that are bothering me.

The AIRPORT SECURITY CHECK, ok the last trip I had to be patted down and will admit it was rather exciting, but now thanks to the idiot that tried to have fireworks in his shorts they are now going to x-ray everyone. Well, let’s face it plus sized people don’t want skinny non medical staff x-raying us. Hell, this is nonsense I don’t even layer clothing or wear jackets because I look bigger, so do you really think I would add an explosive device and detonator under my clothing, how would I set it off, any lit match or spark would be put out by my thighs, this is nonsense. So since I will have to go through the screening I want a copy for my doctor so I can avoid my next mammogram and pelvic exam.

Now the plane ride, five hours is a long time in a seat that is two sizes too small, thank goodness we were able to book seats on the side (side rows only sit two) so I won’t bother anyone, the web site says that seats can change prior to boarding and if ours do and I have to sit up close and personal with a stranger I will have a major breakdown.

The lavatory is such an ordeal lets see, go in side ways, suck it in to turn around, close the door, turn half way around drop your drawers and fall back. Done, not quite get up turn half way around to flush then half way again pull up your drawers, by this time you’ve hit the walls and door a few times the people standing outside the paper thin door are hearing what sounds like two sumo’s wrestling. Now wipe the sweat off your brow open the door smile and walk back to your seat.

The trip is booked we will be gone for a week, seven glorious days; the condo has a full kitchen and our own washer and dryer. Paul said we can pack light (3 pairs of socks, underwear etc.) and wash every other night. Well, this is a vacation if he thinks I’m packing light and washing every two or three days he’s sadly mistaken. He can wear his socks, and underwear, the next day he can turn them inside out and wear them again, this way we both win he can pack light and I won’t have to wash. (Just kidding, or am I?)

Since this trip is for our anniversary I’m going shopping, I want to look sexy and cute on the beach so I’m buying a couple of new thongs to wear on those sunny days in the sand. I don’t like wearing them because the strap chafes my skin and it hurts but I do want to look good. So thong shopping it is or I’ll be stuck wearing tennis shoes all day. 

Well, I’m still trying to diet (remember my New Years resolution) I’ll be happy even if it’s only a few pounds, so wish me luck!

8 Responses to “UP, UP AND AWAY UNITED, OOPS HAWAIIAN AIRLINES”


  1. 1 Jennifer January 24, 2010 at 8:32 am

    ALOHA,
    YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE A GREAT TIME. MY HUSBAND AND I DO THE CONDO AND WASHER/DRYER THING EVERY OTHER TRIP. IT IS NICE. I KNOW DOING LAUNDRY ON VACATION YUCK BUT IF YOUR BAGS COST YOU 25.00 EACH OR MORE AT THE AIRPORT WASHING IS MUCH CHEAPER!! YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE A WONDERFUL TIME. JUST REMEMBER WE MIGHT BE PLUS SIZE IN CALIFORNIA BUT IN HAWAII WE ARE SMALL. 🙂 I LOVE HAWAII BECAUSE OF THAT AND I CAN GO INTO ALMOST ANY STORE AND BUY CLOTHES OFF THE RACK. LOL SO GO TO NORDSTROM RACK TO GET YOUR FLIP FLOPS I HEAR THEY ARE 1/2 PRICE UNDER 20.00. GOOD LUCK.
    JENNIFER

    • 2 Nancy January 25, 2010 at 6:13 pm

      Jennifer, you sound like my daughter Dana she loves shopping in Hawaii, she finds the cutest clothes but let’s face it you and Dana are much smaller than I am, But now I’m a little worried if I do find some cute stuff I may have to layer my clothing to get it home because as you pointed out its $25.00 a bag at the airport.

  2. 3 Barbara January 24, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Great!! I hope you have a really good time and relax!!! Yeh, those thongs can be uncomfortable. I hate it when they dig into the crack–between my toes! 😉

  3. 5 BFF January 25, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Oooooh, when you said “new thongs” I thought you meant Thong Swimsuits. You do know thongs are what we used to call the shoes back in the 50’s and 60’s? They are called “flip-flops” now. Oh, the visions I was having in my mind while reading your message. Maybe you might want to change the wording? Who knows who might read it, get the wrong idea and plan a vacation at the same time. Know what I mean?

    Love, your BFF

    • 6 Nancy January 25, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      Nancy, if someone wants to plan their vacation around seeing a plus sized fifty-six year old on the beach in a thong, I say come on down I’ll give them a show.

      Love, your BFF

  4. 7 Cousin Linda Russell January 25, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    Nancy,
    I needed a smile and your blog always delivers. Been thinking about you, and I am happy to hear that your going on a much needed vacation. Congratulations on your 40th anniversary! Hope to see you before you go.


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

