Snap Out Of It

Ok, let’s get it over with this New Years Resolutions. I wasn’t even going to go do any this year, but I’m weak. I made resolutions to myself; I didn’t tell anyone else so there wouldn’t be any “I told you so”. But for those of you who really know me, I have no shame I will tell you everything. So I waited for January 19th, to publish this entry with my results.

First I need to snap out of it. Being in lockup 24/7, everyday the same thing, the same conversations it’s gotta stop, repetition in my life makes me wonder if I too, suffer from dementia.

Every morning I listen to Pandora (a free internet radio where you create your own personalized station, you enter a song or artist and a station is created just for you playing selections that are musically similar) it’s great. Well anyway I love the sounds of IL Divo and Josh Groban (IL Divo is a multinational operatic pop vocal group, they sing in English, Italian, Spanish, French and Latin, Josh Groban I would classify his music as a pop opera /classical) Anyway every morning I tune in and sing, while playing spider solitaire (I’m addicted).

Well this morning I keyed in something different a new station for the New Year. SANTANA. Yeah you heard me Santana. Now Santana plays a blend of rock, salsa and jazz.

I LOVED IT! Santana singing directly to me and the first song I heard was Black Magic Woman then Evil Ways I loved it, then Bob Marley, Eric Clapton on blues, yikes! Jimi Hendrix. This is so not like me I had to get up and look in the mirror. There I was singing my heart out in some cases up making up my own lyrics. I was so preoccupied with the music I lost seven straight games of spider solitaire.

Yes my blood is circulating, I’m pumped up, I’m alive, alive I say.

Mom came out quietly and had breakfast, I thing she’s a little scared the music, her daughter’s head spinning and singing about evil ways and someone called Black Magic Woman it might have been to much for her.

Second change Spider Solitaire; I’m going to stop resetting the statistics every time I lose. Starting today I will only reset in the morning. I will let my record stand whatever it is for the entire day.

Third, I will be starting a diet as soon as the three pound box of See’s is gone.

Fourth, no more lying about how my diet is going, that’s why I’m not starting until the candy is totally gone. Ok, the candy is now gone, so I’ll start soon.

Fifth, I need a hobby, while I love doing jigsaw puzzles I’m always losing pieces, maybe doing a mosaic, again too many pieces. Painting no talent, writing a blog (humor me) gardening (bugs). I know maybe dancing, in private just me and my music, it could be my version of Sweating to the Oldies (remember Richard Simmons?) It could be dangerous; I could end up knocking myself out trying to keep up with Jimi Hendrix.

Sixth, realize I need a vacation away from my mom, so I’ve started planning already (in my head) for my getaway. Alaska? Hawaii? Mount Rushmore? Anywhere I can afford, I would even settle for San Dimas, Cucamonga, Pasadena or El Monte.

Seventh, I will be more open minded to the Netflix movies my husband orders (this will be explained in a later entry).

Eighth, I will provide my mother shelter, food, water, if she eats, she eats and if she drinks, she drinks it will be her decision.

Nine and Ten, no arguing or hurt feelings, I will close my ears and no longer put value into the hurtful things my mom says.

Results;

I’m still listening to my new music, and considering dreadlocks.

I’m am no longer cheating or altering my statistics on spider solitaire.

Third, the See’s candy is gone and the diet is hit and miss,

Fourth, I’ve started another puzzle, but am planning to dance as soon as my knee stops hurting.

Fifth, I picked up new travel books at the Auto Club.

Sixth I watched another dumb movie (Hangover) with my husband and actually enjoyed it.

Resolution eight, letting my mom make her own decision about eating and drinking hasn’t worked out as well as I hoped she is barely getting enough to survive but as they say, “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make them drink”

Last but not least, ignoring my mom has worked she has not called me a name, complained or argued in over a week, when it seems like she’s going to lose it I flip the ignore button on and leave the room and now she struggles but manages to keep quiet.

So, Happy but not perfect New Years!

7 Responses to “Snap Out Of It”


  1. 1 BFF January 20, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Hey Nancy, you forgot to put Colorado Springs on your list of places to go. What’s up with that?

    So glad you are taking some positive actions but I am not sure about the dreadlocks thing. You will have to let your hair grow for that, “Foxy Lady” (Jimi Hendrix song from the 60’s).

    Weather here is always changing. The saying “If you don’t like the weather, wait 10 minutes” is so true. The weather guys give a 7 day forcast but we never can be sure. Hop in the car and start out this way and we can tell you what it is like for the next 10 minutes. Miss you and the Saint.

    Your BFF

    • 2 Nancy January 20, 2010 at 1:34 pm

      I omitted Colorado Springs, because that’s a given, Paul wants Hawaii first then Colorado Springs with Mackenzie in the summer.
      I’ve been thinking dreadlocks so I won’t have to wash my hair as much, but seeing my hair is only 3 inches long it will be a while and by then I’ll be in a different phase in my life.
      About your weather changing every ten minutes, it changes from cold to rain then to snow, at this moment I’m checking MSN weather it says 41 degrees, feels like 41 and it snowing. Hell no, I’ll see you in the summer.

      Love your BFF 🙂

  2. 3 Barbara January 20, 2010 at 9:38 am

    I can so-o-o relate to some of this. I, too, need to get out more often–get away for a bit. I’m such a homebody but I’m starting to get antsy. I can only play so much Skip-Bo and Bingo (5 to 6 times a day every day)!
    My salvation is my computer and my friends on there. I’d go crazy without them.
    I have tried jigsaw puzzles in hopes it would be a different activity for us to do together but Mom says the pieces are too tiny–Mom has rather large hands for a woman–so that didn’t last long. I do still try to work one by myself now and then.

    Dreadlocks would be great on you! 😉

    • 4 Nancy January 21, 2010 at 9:25 am

      Skip-Bo, I never heard of this game before, I’ll have to check it out. Paul and I like to get together with the kids for game nights lately it’s been scrabble or Wii. I wish my mom like to play games during the day but she has an aversion to having fun.
      Yes what would we do without the computer but unlike you I still have trouble with navigation (and my son’s a programmer) what can I say I’m a slow learner.

      • 5 Barbara January 21, 2010 at 9:57 am

        Skip Bo is a card game for 2 to 6 players. Sis, Mom, and I are totally addicted to it yet I don’t want to play 5 games a day! Sometimes I let just Sis and Mom play while I catch up on stuff I want to do on the computer. That way Mom doesn’t feel ‘neglected’ and I can enjoy my comp time.

        Mom doesn’t see it as fun, she takes the game very seriously. If Sis and I joke around and say funny things, Mom tells us to ‘pay attention’! We just laugh all the more!

        I’m still learning different things to do on the comp, it took me years to learn what I do know–which I learned from my daughter. You’ll ‘get it’ with practice, I’m sure!

        Skip Bo link…..

        http://www.boardgamecapital.com/skip-bo-rules.htm

  3. 6 GAIL January 20, 2010 at 9:45 am

    SOUNDS LIKE A PERFECTLY GOOD START TO A NEW YEAR….BOBBIE AND BILL LEFT TODAY FOR RENO AND BROUGHT ME ALL GIZMOS FOOD…NOW YOU KNOW THAT CAT WILL NOT BRAVE THE RAIN TO EAT SO SHE’LL PROBABLY STARVE….I’LL GET THE MAIL AND THEY’LL RETURN THIS SUNDAY…WHAT’S IN RENO FOR GODS SAKE?????WHY WOULD ANYONE GET IN AN BIG TRUCK AND DRIVE THRU THIS WEATHER TO GO ANYWHERE?????ANYHOW I WATCHED DONNA DEWBERRY ONE TOUCH PAINTING ON QVC YESTERDAY AND WOULD LOVE THE HOBBY OF PAINTING..I ALSO HAVE NO TALENT….BUT I’LL PROBABLY STICK TO MY HOBBY OF DRIVING THE GRANDKIDS HOME FROM SCHOOL DAILY….WHAT IS SPIDER SOLITAIRE???

    • 7 Nancy January 21, 2010 at 9:45 am

      Gail you are too funny. I’ve never been to Reno so I don’t know what the draw would be maybe they have friends or relatives. Yikes, I checked the weather for them today and its 34 degrees and snowing, I can’t think of anyone that I would go out in that type of weather for.
      I’m like you my main hobbies are still picking up Mackenzie, eating and my remote.
      You’ve never heard of Spider solitaire? The game that I have on the computer has regular solitaire (easy/boring) than the medium version which I love uses two sets of cards, and a difficult which uses four sets of cards it fun and passes the time away. I’ll have to see how to send you the link.


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

