Hello, Hello Is Anyone There?

You’ve all heard the idiom “he/she is out to lunch.” For those who have never heard it before it means someone is crazy or out of touch. Well, my mom is not crazy, she suffers from beginning stages of dementia, I like to say she’s out for a snack. 

For the last couple of months, I have not been arguing with my mom about eating so her dementia has gotten worse so I now have to say not only is she out for snacks occasionally she stays out to lunch. 

Well, Norma my mom’s closest friend (or as I call her, my second mom) called to say hi we talked for a minute, then I told my mom who was sitting in the living room to pick up the phone. 

“Mom, Norma’s on the line.”
“Ok.”
“Mom, pick up the phone and say hi.”
“Hello, Hello?” 

Well I can hear my mom saying hello from the other room, but I can’t hear her on the telephone extension. I get up and see my mom talking into the DVR controller.  

“Mom, that’s not the telephone, it’s the controller for the DVR, pick up the phone.”
“Oh, I thought that was the phone.” 

I see her place the controller down; again I hear her saying;

“Hello, Hello?”
“Mom, pick up the phone.”
“No one’s on the line.”
“Mom, now your talking into the TV controller the other one’s the phone.” 

Eureka, finally she’s on the phone. 

Well, I’m back to making my mom eat at least one balanced meal a day, my mom is back to her old mean self, and I’m out to out to lunch, really out to lunch, in more ways then one.

5 Responses to “Hello, Hello Is Anyone There?”


  1. 1 Barbara October 9, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Hahahaha!! I’m sorry, I can’t help but laugh! It’s not that the situation is so funny–it’s the way you tell it!! Poor Mom, too many gadgets nearby and too confusing.
    (Can’t you feed her a balanced meal that doesn’t contain the mean nutrients?) 😉

  2. 2 Nancy October 10, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    (Can’t you feed her a balanced meal that doesn’t contain the mean nutrients?)

    You’re so funny.
    I just told my husband next time he goes to the market to pick up a pound of nice.

    (Updates needed; Its been 5 days on All By Myself, and 9 days on Senior Safari, I need a BB fix)

  3. 3 Barbara October 10, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Make that 2 pounds!

    I’m sorry, it’s just so hard to get on here and type out a story with Mom right here in the same room. It’s not like she can see what I’m typing, it’s more like I feel sneaky and don’t want to get caught–creepy feeling!

    I can’t put the computer anywhere else in the house, so I’m stuck waiting until she takes a nice long nap which isn’t very often anymore thanks to me!

    She used to stay cooped up in this dark mobile home which kept her feeling sleepy and she took lots of naps. Well, I just HAD to come and throw open all of the curtains and turn on some lights to brighten the place up–now she’s more ‘alive’ and rarely naps! What was I thinking????

  4. 4 Nancy October 12, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Count as one of your blessings that your mom chooses to be in your life.

  5. 5 Barbara October 12, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Oh, Nancy, I do count it as a huge blessing in my life! I love Mom with all my heart.


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

