What Happened?

Wikipedia:

If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?” is a philosophical riddle that raises questions regarding observation and knowledge of reality. 

My question is, if you’re in the same room as your wife, and she falls do you hear, see or feel it? Apparently not. 

Since we’ve been back from Hawaii, I’ve fallen twice. The first time was in the family room which is open to the kitchen. My husband was at the sink about twenty feet away from me I got up and tripped, down I went like a ton of bricks, when I landed I was directly in front on him about ten feet away. I swear when I hit the ground I bounced. 

I knew I was going down; nothing I could do to prevent it, first there was a rush of air, then a thud. I looked up and my husband said; 

“What happened?”  
“What, do you mean what happened?”
“Did, you trip?”
(No, I just felt like getting up and throwing myself to the ground.)
“Yes, Paul I tripped.”
“Can I help you get up?”
“No, let me just lay here so I can see if the vacuum is doing a good job.” 

Well, I was fine, nothing broken, just a little embarrassed. 

About a week later, I decided to mop the kitchen floor, something that my husband always does for me. Now remember I’m plus size and have bad knees. My husband said he’d do it, but I don’t know why I kept mopping. I guess in one spot I had a little too much water and my foot hit the spot and down I went. This time Paul was only a few feet away from me, but it happened so fast I couldn’t reach over and take him down with me; oops I mean I couldn’t hold on. It felt like slow and fast motion all at the same time. 

I actually felt graceful, while I was doing the splits, my torso was in a half turn, like a ballerina in flight, arms in the air over my head, I must have looked beautiful. Then the thud. Again; 

“What happened?”  
“What, do you mean what happened, didn’t you see me fall?”
“Yes.”
“Did you see and hear me hit the kitchen floor?”
“Yes.”
“Then why are you asking me?”
“I dunno, oh now, I see what happen you slipped in the water.”
“Are you sure its water? I might have sprung a leak.”
“No, it’s water.”

So, here’s my answer;

 “If a tree falls in a forest (or your wife in the house) and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?” Yes, not only is there sound, there is movement in the air and on the ground. However, my question is if someone is present when the tree or wife falls, will they always ask “What happened?”

10 Responses to “What Happened?”


  1. 1 BBB September 21, 2009 at 9:35 am

    hahaha!!!!!!1 Wetting my pants again!! Yeh, really, what’s up with the dumb question–“What Happened”??????

    • 2 Nancy September 22, 2009 at 12:51 pm

      I answered the phone today and all I heard was “what happened” then laughter; it was my BFF Nancy from Colorado Springs. You two are just alike.

  2. 3 BBB September 22, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    hahaha!! She must be a wacky woman, too, then! 🙂

  3. 4 Nancy September 29, 2009 at 6:52 am

    I just received this email from my brother;

    OK, Nancy. I realize that when we ellipse fifty that we start to find solice with the past, especially from our childhood. Memories can be sparked from one or all of our senses. Mine particular from musical notes. BUT, to try and relive the closing days of summer of slip’n’slideing on the lawn on Ranger Ave. by running across the wet kitchen floor is not healthy! Be careful!!

  4. 5 Margie September 30, 2009 at 6:40 am

    I’m sorry, but that was funny. Not that you fell, not once, but twice, just the way you told it was hilarious.

  5. 6 Nancy September 30, 2009 at 7:39 am

    The funny part is that I really did bounce. 🙂

  6. 7 chee November 16, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    hahaha Nancy you are quite comical in your own way, however, it actually is not funny. At our age, above 50s, we should be extra careful not to fall. I hope its alright for me to advise you on that. It is good that nothing serious happened. Please be careful. Never allow this to happen again or else you will regret it, really not wise, okay?

    • 8 Nancy November 16, 2009 at 3:08 pm

      I am always careful, but falls and accidents do happen. I’m pretty healthy and have a lot of padding so I usually bounce back with no injuries. It would be nice if we all could avoid bad things from happening but that’s just not how life works.

  7. 9 chee November 16, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    and please, do not even hope that just because you fell, you had hoped that your special someone will notice and helped you up automatically? pls erase this hope cos the truth of the matter is, they are really not made of the same kind of material that women all over hope for….hahaha….right? just, what happened? just shows right? anyway you take care not to fall again, no joke.

  8. 10 Nancy November 16, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    My special someone is just that, special. We were childhood sweethearts, who have been married thirty-nine years. We still make time weekly for a special drive or to just be alone together. Our grown children are our best friends, who we see or talk to daily. Believe me if he could have caught me he would have, he’s that special and sweet. He’s my better half.


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

