Written By My Brother

OK. I’ve been going to Mom’s house as much as I can, since the Jordan’s Hawaii trip. Trying to prevent Chilo from going to the dark-side and offering an ear to my mom. Upon leaving Friday I told him I would be back on Sunday or Monday. I called on Sunday to say I’ll see you tomorrow, Monday morning. It started as a nice day, clear skies birds chirping in the trees and the freeway was empty. Mom was up too! Surprised, as she has been up every time I’ve come to visit. Chilo and I went for a quick bite at the airport cafe. He asked me if I would help him move something in the backyard he needed help with as a surprise for Big Paul. I eagerly agreed. I’m not going to say “I don’t think this is a good idea.” OK? Do you remember the Mars Communication Satellite Array my dad had in the backyard? Well, the dish had been sold I think for scrap and the pole and base remained. Now, we all know my dad loved cement. This pole was built to withstand anything mother nature could through at it as well as anything man made. Chilo had dug it out by himself and wanted US to lift it up so he could back fill the hole. I realized that Chilo is older than my mom and that logic sometimes is a process that fades before health. I’m certain now that Chilo must be a distant cousin to Jack Lalane. This cement pole and cement base weighed a freaking ton! Geez! I’m glad my degree in Physics had a chance to payoff. In my mind I wish I had kept the phone number of the three Mexicans and a truck that had done work for me. I admit it: An eighty-six year old kicked my behind! I might have lifted more or pulled and pushed more, but he, I don’t think, even broke much of a sweat. For me eighty-six is just a dream now. 🙂 
I went to see my sister today, fresh from her two week tour of the Hawaiian Islands. So-Cal freeways, wow, what can I say. You know them better than I do. We didn’t have many big ole paved roads in ATL/GA. Frustrated and ready to burst, over 55’ers will know what I mean, I finally arrived. Grandma Jordan was more excited than The Mac with her first day in big girl school being today. Maybe I can see The Mac in the next week or so. What a sweetheart! Al, the pool guy, came by to service the ce-ment pond and exchange some small talk. He made note that “Geez you look just like your dad!” Nancy said “but he’s more mellow than dad.” Seeing myself and my life under my pocket microscope I can agree. She’s right, but…the Dominick gene runs strong in my DNA strand too! So many times I wonder to myself and say “Yikes! Did I just say or do that?” It was my dad that made do or say that! That’s what I offer as an excuse to Dorothy. When I’m shaving I’ll catch my dad looking back in the mirror and that smile of his (ours?) will appear. You know that sly, sad puppy dog eyes smile. Yeah, I’m the mellow one. I’d rather not know about evil. I only want to know about love. Old hippies never die, they just shave their heads. Our dad saw enough of this world’s evil and mean people for two or three lives. I think that’s one of the reason he gave back so much of himself to others. That’s my sister (the not-so mellow one?)…giving so much of herself to everyone! The Dominick gene runs strong in our DNA don’t it!
Love you Babo!
 
Mellow Gary
 
5 Responses to “Written By My Brother”


  1. 1 seniorsafari September 11, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Yay!! Nancy’s back!! Hope Hawaii was grand!!

    Hi Gary!!

  2. 2 Nancy September 12, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Yes, We had a wonderful time.. But I did miss my Senior Safari.
    🙂

  3. 3 GAIL September 12, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    SOUNDS LIKE YOU HAD A MEMORABLE PLANE TRIP NOW TELL ABOUT HAWAII…I DIDN;T KNOW YOU WOULD BE GONE FOR TWO WHOLE WEEKS…NOT A LOT HAPPENED HERE…BILL AND BOBBIE GONE TO JUNE LAKE LAST WEEK….LABOR DAY NO ONE MOVED EVEN THE GARDNERS STAYED HOME…I’VE BEEN JUST WATCHING THE GRASS GROW…ALOHA GAIL

  4. 4 Nancy September 13, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    It was wonderful; all I had to do was relax and eat. If you haven’t been to Hawaii you need to go with your girls.
    It sounds like Jennifer had a great time in Maui. 🙂

  5. 5 Nancy September 16, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I just received this email from my cousin Salle and had to share it with you;

    This is hysterical. I shared the entry with Raymond and he told me his own Chilo LaLane story.

    A couple of years back, Dominick decided to give his roll-top desk to Daniella. He had called me to see if we could come over to pick it up in our truck. The next weekend, Raymond stopped by the house to load it into the truck. Although they put the desk on a dolly to give it some leverage, the thing weighed a ton. Both Dominick & Raymond were struggling to lift the desk into the truck……..and then along came Chilo. Without breaking a sweat, he bench-pressed the desk into the truck almost single handedly. Gotta love him!!

    Hey, maybe that garlic thing works after all.


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

