You Can Always Depend On Depends

Ok, this problem just started two weeks ago, when I stopped insisting (arguing) with my mom to eat, her dementia has gotten a little worse. 

For the last six years my mom requires catheterization daily, to completely empty her bladder. During the day she suffers from overflow incontinence so we rely on Depends. 

Yikes, a major natural disaster, she’s been forgetting to put on her Depends. Did you just smile, I hope not. I will just laugh about everything but this has been making me a nervous wreck. 

“Mom, while you’re up lets do your catheter.”
“I thought we did it already.”
“No, we didn’t.”
“I don’t think we need to do this everyday.”
“Mom, everyday for the last six years we have the same conversation.”
“Well, it’s you that wants to do it; even the doctor says I don’t need this anymore.”
“Then why does he keep giving us prescriptions for the catheters?”
“MOM, WHERES YOUR DEPENDS?”
“Don’t, I have them on?”
“No, you don’t, you forgot to put them on again.”
“I didn’t forget.”
“Then where are they?”
“I don’t know.” 

We have pads on her two lift chairs, and her bed just in case. But, lately not only is she forgetting to put on her Depends she’s forgetting to sit in her chairs. It’s like her butt has radar, she always ends up where I sit.

Oh, heck no, there’s two types of luck; good luck and bad luck, guess where I fall into?

Footnote: Today is my son Paul’s 34th Birthday.
HAPPY B-DAY!
Love Mom and Dad 🙂

2 Responses to “You Can Always Depend On Depends”


  1. 1 seniorsafari July 14, 2009 at 7:42 am

    Put them on her yourself or at least supervise her putting them on. I don’t think there’s any way around that. As for her sitting in other chairs, maybe you can kindly guide her to her own chair? Tell her it’s much more comfy for her. ??????? I don’t really know what would work for your mom. So much for great advice, huh?

    I begin taking care of my mom in 2 weeks. I may be asking YOUR advice!!!

    Happy Birthday Paul! Give your Mom a big hug–she deserves it!!

    • 2 Nancy July 14, 2009 at 7:57 am

      Lately it looks like I’m training for the Olympics, when my mom comes into the room I’m making a mad dash hurtling over the furniture to my chair.

      After yesterday my only advice is to RUN, RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN, AND DON’T LOOK BACK IT WILL ONLY SLOW YOU DOWN.
      🙂


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,490 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

