You’ve Always Been Lazy

Well, number nine of things my mom says daily that drives me nuts is, “you’ve always been lazy.” I however, like to think of it as conserving energy. 

Once my mother married my dad, she became a typical 1950’s housewife; she never worked outside the home and never learned to drive. I on the other hand married in the 70’s, had my kids then went to work, part time when my youngest went into the first grade. No, my kids weren’t latch key kids; my husband worked nights so one of us was always home. 

So my mom and I are completely different. She dusted and vacuumed everyday, her mission was to keep the house clean all day. Well, to her I was lazy, I cleaned every two or three days, and my mission was not to lose one of the kids among the tents made from sofa cushions and blankets. 

She thought I was lazy spending more time and energy on sports, dance, gymnastics, school functions and work, instead of keeping house full-time. 

Once my kids got older, I worked fulltime, and due my parent’s declining health juggled family, parents, work and housework. My day would start out at four-thirty. I would shower and dress for work, drive to my parents at five-thirty, leave daily medications, check my dad, and do a catheter on my mom, then be at work by seven am. 

Breaks and lunch, I would call home to check if everything was ok. After work I would drive to their house check on medications, do another catheter for my mom, ensure dinner was done, I would get home around five-thirty. 

Since my dad passed, I no longer worked, my fulltime job is to take care of my mom twenty-four seven. My mom’s only job is watch my every move or as she thinks my non moves; 

“Nancy, are you going to do the laundry?”
“No.”
“Are you just going to let it pile up?”
“Mom, there’s three towels, two pairs of underwear from Paul and I, one t-shirt and blouse, not enough for one load of anything.”
“I don’t know how you can be so lazy.”
 
“Nancy, are the dishes in the dishwasher clean?”
“No.”
“Are you going to start it tonight?”
“No, I’ll start it when I have a full load.”
“Why don’t you just wash them by hand, you shouldn’t be so lazy.”
 
“Nancy, get my Ensure.”
“Nancy, can you shut the bathroom window?”
“Nancy can you start the shower?”
“Can you get me a towel?”
“Nancy, button up my housecoat.”
“Can you help me put on my slippers?”
“Did you forget my cream?”
“Get my cereal and milk.”
“Turn on the TV, turn off the light.”
 
“Why are you here, I don’t need you during the day. Ever since you were little, you’ve been lazy, do something.”
“I am.”
“What are you doing?”
“I’m waiting for your next command.”
“Don’t get smart.”
“I’m too lazy to get smart.”
 
“How, can you do puzzles, watch TV or sit at the computer all day?”
“Mom, there’s nothing else for me to do until its time to get Mac from school.”
“I could never just sit like you and do nothing, I was never lazy.” 

So to show her I wasn’t lazy I got up and moved to another chair.

4 Responses to “You’ve Always Been Lazy”


  1. 3 seniorsafari June 11, 2009 at 8:05 am

    “So to show her I wasn’t lazy I got up and moved to another chair.”
    Hahahahahahahaha! You are so funny!

    No way are you lazy! I got winded just READING all that you do for everyone!
    Yes, she’s from a different generation and just doesn’t get it!

    By the way, I will be living the “joyous” life you are living by the end of July. I am moving out to Texas to take care of my 87 year old Mom. She is very headstrong and independent and so am I so I’m sure there will be some head-butting there!
    She’s fallen twice in the past couple of months and is now afraid to live alone so I’ll be there for her. I’ve been unemployed for 5 months now and no jobs coming up in the future so I might as well.
    I’m sure it will make for interesting post on my SS blog. 🙂

    • 4 Nancy June 11, 2009 at 11:35 am

      Wow, eighty seven and still living alone, that’s great, sounds like she’s still able to function mentally, and only needs help physically. I hope she realizes how lucky she is to have a caring, patient and loving daughter, which is willing to make the sacrifice of uprooting to care for her.

      As far as both of you being headstrong and independent, it will seem at times like your back in your teen years living at home, they never stop being mom.

      But, all kidding aside anyone who has read seniorsafari, knows that you will be able to pull it off. Just remember, Texas is a hop, skip and jump from California, so you’ll have a place to stay if you ever need to run away.

      Nancy 🙂


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

