Yam, Yams And More Yams

What has two legs, two arms, lives on land and looks like a puffer fish? Give up, it’s my son Paul. 

A few months ago at age thirty-three, my son decided to develop an allergy. It started with hives, then swelling of the lips, and now it’s causing problems with his throat. He has been tested and two of the culprits are tomatoes and bell peppers. He now has to carry an EpiPen. 

My son eats to live. Food has never been a big deal to him. Ninety nine percent of the time, when we go out he’ll eat salads, the only difference for him now, is his salad will be minus tomatoes and bell peppers. At home, he eats chicken, and fish, he can adjust to anything, its no big deal after all its only food. 

The rest of us, live to eat. Were Italian and Mexican, we wouldn’t be able to live without tomatoes and bell peppers. No spaghetti, lasagna, mostaccioli no spanish rice, fajitas, no barbeque sauce? Just kill me now. 

The other day we had a barbeque, I knew we couldn’t use barbeque sauce so I decided on hamburgers and Hebrew National hot dogs. I made potato salad, pasta salad one with, and one without tomatoes, baked beans (oops with ketchup) and corn on the cob. Dana made the best bean dip and chocolate cake. Muriel, hikes on Sunday’s so I really wasn’t expecting her to bring anything. But, I was surprised to learn my son Paul cooked. 

Now, before I start telling you about what my son made, let me say something about Muriel, she makes the best yams. It’s a secret recipe, so don’t ask, whenever she makes them she gets raves, so I guess my son decided to try his hand with yams, three different dishes with yams. 

Now, I’ve never been to a barbeque where they serve yams, but I’m up for anything. First there was yam fries, yes yam fries, I couldn’t believe it either, and they were good but on the sweet side. 

Then came the yam and apple cobbler. This dish was pushing it; I’m not a yam person, so I didn’t try this one. Everyone else did, it must have tasted good because half the plate was gone. 

Now, the last dish was yam brownies, really yam brownies, I just don’t understand what he was thinking. He made a cake from scratch and added grated yams. They looked like cake brownies, but golden brown, they smelled sweet, but no chocolate. Everyone, except me tried the brownies and went nuts. Even Dana, who like me, doesn’t try new things, said they were great. They smelled delicious, but I knew they were imposters. 

Later, that night Dana said she might ask him to make a plate of brownies for Mac’s teachers. Well, if they were that good, I’ll try them. I must say he gets an Atta boy, they were indeed good. The only way they could have been better would have been to add chocolate and powdered sugar and omit the yams. Just kidding, Paul you did a good job.

I just want to close saying, yams are for Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter dinners. Brownies on the other hand are good three hundred and sixty-five days a year.

3 Responses to “Yam, Yams And More Yams”


  1. 1 seniorsafari May 17, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Haha! Sounds like you had a ‘yammy’ barbecue that turned out yummy!


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

