Mother’s Day

This Mother’s Day, all I wanted to do was relax, no crowds, no lines, no waiting. I decided the guys should barbeque for us gals.

I got up around eight which is late for me, and stayed in my robe until nine-thirty. My uncle came over around the same time my mom got up. Everything was fine, until I mentioned my brother Gary, was coming over. 

“Mom, take a shower, after your Ensure, because Gary’s coming over.”
“I don’t care, if he see’s me in by robe.”
“Mom, you need to freshen up.”
“I’m fresh.”
“No, mom, you need to look nice when Gary’s over.” 

She finally gets up and takes a shower. She comes back into the den, and she’s complaining. For the last few months everyday she’s been complaining of chest pains. When you mention taking her to the doctors, she miraculously gets better. So when she started I went into the kitchen, leaving my uncle to handle it. 

“My chest hurts so bad, I can hardly breathe.”
“Nancy, has told you everyday, she’ll take you to the doctor’s, walk in, or the emergency room. If you were in that much pain, you’d go.”
“Well, the pain comes and goes.”
“Mom, you said you’re in pain right now, let’s go.”
“It stopped.”
“Then I don’t want to hear about the pain, when Gary’s over.” 
“Just shut your big mouth.”
(So, I did.)

So, my brother, his wife and my niece come over to visit. My niece gave her flowers and my bother and sister-in-law gave her a set of beautiful sheets. Mom was on her best behavior, no complaining. That is, until they were almost out the door. Then the pain started up again. 

“Oh, the pain in my chest.”
“Mom, I don’t want to hear this all day. Let’s go to Urgent Care.”
(My sister-in-law hears us and turns around)
“What’s a matter with your mom?”
“Nothing, she’s fine, everyday we go through this” 
“Are, you sure?”
“Yes, I’m sure.” 

So, when they leave, I told my mom, I don’t want any problems today. The kids and their in-laws are coming over for dinner. My uncle and I kept talking, she kept complaining. Now, it’s about her lift chair. She has two, today she’s complaining about the one in the den. 

“The material is hurting my back.”
“How is it hurting you?”
“The material is too rough on my skin.”
“Mom, your wearing depends, a slip, a long dress and a long sleeve sweater. How can it be rough?”
“I can feel it through my clothes.”
“It’s the same chair as in your bedroom.”
“I don’t care, it hurts.”
 “Then sit somewhere else.”
“I don’t like sitting in the other chairs.”
“Then, go to your room.”  

So, into the bat cave she went. Until, my kids came. Coming into the den she’s barely able to walk, when she eyed presents, she made a beeline to her chair. She looked at Dana and said; 

Did you pick up something for a few dollars, for the baby from me for Christmas?”
“It’s not Christmas, its Mother’s day.”
“Oh.”  

As soon as, Danas mother-in-law sat down near my mother, it started; “I just want to die.” Dana, and I just looked at each other, it was obvious that she was heard, but no one said anything. 

She then turned her back to our guests, and said nothing, after about five minutes she turned back and said, “I have to give you my back, because I’m in pain sitting in this chair, I just hurt all over.” Then turned and gave them her back again. When no one acknowledged her she got up and left.  

She refused to have dinner; she was too ill to eat. While we were eating her younger brother and his wife, dropped by. They asked where she was I explained how she was acting. They weren’t hungry so they went into her room. For at least thirty minutes she was wailing about her pain, about her wanting to die. I felt bad for Dana having her mother-in-law hear the entire ruckus. 

When we were cleaning up, my uncle and his wife came out to join us. My aunt immediately said “she needs medication for depression”. Are you kidding? I need to be treated for depression not her. 

It’s going back to “it’s a way of life,” complaining is all she knows, it’s her comfort zone.  

So, we started serving dessert, to our guests and family, she reappears smiling like nothing has happened, and wants dessert not dinner. I don’t care and cut a piece of carrot cake anything to keep her quiet. 

Once everyone left she said; 

“Happy Mother’s Day.”
“No, mom it was far from being happy, you ruined it complaining and telling people you want to die.”
“Oh, I was just talking. They know I didn’t mean it.”
“No, mom, they didn’t.”

3 Responses to “Mother’s Day”


  1. 1 seniorsafari May 12, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Poor Nancy! Kind of ruined the day, huh? Sorry about that but what can you do?? That’s got to be rough.

    • 2 Nancy May 16, 2009 at 4:25 pm

      Actually, I knew she was up to something right when she got up, so I was prepared.
      Nancy
      Thanks to you, Barbara, look what I can do 🙂

  2. 3 seniorsafari May 17, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Hahaha! 🙂 😉 😀


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

