Leapin’ Lizard

Yesterday, I got a call on my cell phone from my daughter Dana. It was the type of call every parent dreads getting. I could hardly understand a word she was saying. She was unintelligible, crying, and screaming. Finally I was able to calm her enough to understand her; 

“Mom, is Chris with you?”
“No, I left him at Mac’s cooking class; he’ll be there another fifteen minutes.”
“I need help!”
“Dana, where are you, and are you ok?”
“I’m at the office, and no I’m not ok, I need Chris.”
“Dana, calm down, are you hurt?”
“No, there’s a (unintelligible) in the office.”
“Calm down, what’s in the office?”
“A lizard.”
“Dana, is this call about a little lizard in the office?”
“It’s huge, maybe it’s a mouse?”
“Dana, a mouse and a lizard are two different types of animals, think, what was it?”

“A lizard.”
“Dana, just lock up the office and go home. The poor little thing is more afraid of you then, you are of it.”
“No mom, Chris is going to find it today, or I’m not coming back into the office ever!” 

Now, for my new readers, Dana is thirty-eight going on six. She is a smart woman, except in moments of crisis or lizards. Needless to say, I kept driving home. I also have my own issues with lizards. 

An hour later, I called to check on the lizard status. Dana said Chris was in her office with the door closed; only one was expected to come out alive. Knowing my daughter, her husband will not be able to stop, go home or eat dinner until he finds the damn thing. 

Not to long after, Dana called, she’s so in love with her husband, he can have anything he wants for dinner, he can have a beer, he can have just about anything, because he’s her hero. He found the lizard behind the built in file cabinet. Did I say built in cabinet? Not anymore. But that’s ok, at least Dana is happy.

Where’s the lizard, Chris let it go outside. Let’s just pray, for its own sake it doesn’t come back in.

12 Responses to “Leapin’ Lizard”


  1. 1 Davis May 6, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    makes me happy I just have to deal with ants — thanks for the funny post

  2. 2 Nancy May 6, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Davis,

    One lizard, is easier than many ants.

    OMG, I just read tips for on the job, protection too funny. I’m not done reading your blog entries.

    Nancy

  3. 3 Your BFF May 7, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Nancy, my BFF,

    I guess Dana never had the pleasure of going on a camping trip, Hmmmm? Too bad. We had plenty of lizards and horny toads to watch in our backyard when we were kids. In fact, we tied a small horned toad with a string around his neck and attached it to a rose bush. We fed him ants and loved playing with him. He really was cute!

    Your BFF and yes, we are two very different people

    • 4 Nancy May 8, 2009 at 11:50 am

      BFF,

      Don’t hmmm me. Paul and I have gone camping before, our style, no room service. And yes, Dana, Chris and Mac, have also gone camping, in a 28ft motor home.
      Do I have to do another “Opposites Attract” entry.

      Love ;Your BFF

  4. 5 seniorsafari May 7, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Leapin’ Lizards!! Poor Dana! I hope she recovers sufficiently from her traumatic experience. 😉

    (By the way, if it would have been a snake, I would have been outta there and NEVER go back!) 😯

    • 6 Nancy May 8, 2009 at 12:02 pm

      If any of my readers, are care givers check out “seniorsafari”, and Barbara’s other blog “allbymyself” her story of personal growth.

      Barbara, I can’t believe you’d be afraid of snakes, after reading “Home Grown”.

      Nancy

  5. 7 seniorsafari May 7, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Crap! 80 should be 😯

  6. 9 seniorsafari May 7, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Crap again! You must not have your blog setup to where smiley codes become the smiley image.

  7. 11 seniorsafari May 8, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Yeah, there’s a section in your Dashboard>Settings>Writing…
    There’s a statement there that says “Convert emoticons like 🙂 and 😛 to graphics on display”. Just check that and save the change and you’re good to go!


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

