Addicted To “Pot”

My mom at eighty-four is addicted to “pot”, the coffee pot to be exact. My mom is addicted to what she calls “coffee water”. I have tried to make a deal with her, drink four bottles of water or equivalent (juice, milk, soups, etc.) and she can have a cup the next day, but no can do. Now, I realize you get fluids also in food, but she only eats one meal a day and its less food than a two year old would eat. 

If you’re new to reading my blog. My reasons of the no coffee rule; my dad passed away from complications of dehydration. My mom has had two hospital stays for the same reason dehydration in the last two years. Coffee is a diuretic, which means she would have to have more liquids to counter balance the effects.   

A few days, after Easter, I was on the computer in the kitchen dining area with my granddaughter. I had just done a catheter on my mom and told my husband we needed to push water today. A few minutes later, my mom came in and picked up the coffee pot, my husband saw her; 

“No, coffee today Eva”.
“What do you mean no coffee?”
“You needed more water today.”
“Well, who in the hell are you?” 

Then it happened, she threw the coffee pot into the sink, glass everywhere. My granddaughter got scared, I was shocked; my husband kept his cool and started cleaning up the glass. 

“Mom, what in the heck are you thinking?”
“Who, does he think; he is telling me no coffee?”
“Mom, I told him no coffee today, look in the mirror your eyes are sunken in, which isn’t a good sign, we don’t need another trip to the hospital.”
“I don’t care, I want coffee.”
“Mom, you scared Mackenzie.” (My granddaughter) 

She kept going on and on. Let me just say she was horrible. 

My daughter came to get Mac, but before leaving went into my mom’s room to talk to her. Ten minutes later my daughter came out crying. Yes, my mom has the ability to upset everyone. 

Since I watch Mac after preschool, my mom see’s her and either Dana or Chris daily when they pick her up. But, after what she said to everyone, I decided to go over to their house to babysit. 

“I haven’t seen the baby or Dana in two days.”
“Well, after what you said to them, I don’t know when they’ll be back”
“I was just kidding?”

“No, you weren’t, this time you not getting off that easy, you need to apologize.”

Nothing, until my daughter called and my mom answered. Finally, an apology. Later that day, I took Mac, over to see my mom.  

“Mac, where have you been?”
“Home, Nana.”
“Mom, don’t you think Mackenzie is in need of an apology?” 
“I’m sorry Mac.”
“Nana, you scared me, and hurt my feelings; I thought you didn’t want me at your house?” 

Tears, she has tears. 

Since then on a scale of one to ten, ten being horrible, she’s at a five. I can deal with a five.

9 Responses to “Addicted To “Pot””


  1. 1 seniorsafari May 2, 2009 at 9:53 am

    At first, I was laughing at the title of your post–too funny! But, after reading the post, I felt bad for you, your daughter, and Mac. It must be awfully upsetting to witness that kind of behavior–especially when you’re trying to HELP her! I would have a lot of anger over that, I’m sure!
    Stay strong Nancy!!

    • 2 Nancy May 2, 2009 at 10:35 am

      Barbara,

      All I can say is when I read your entry on Senior Safari, titled “Broken Promises”, it hit home. My kids and friends have been telling me the same thing. I’m just not there yet.

      Now, about you and Moo, you’re both talented when it comes to photography. When I mentioned it in my reply, I was talking about her blog. If you look under archives in March and click on Happy 5th Birthday, Macko, (her birthday party w/classmates and family) you’ll see what a crazy bunch we are.

      Nancy

  2. 3 seniorsafari May 2, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    Nancy, I couldn’t find it. I searched all through March. If you add the Archives widget from your dashboard, one would be able to just click on March, then the date–much easier to find posts that way.;)

    • 4 Nancy May 2, 2009 at 9:16 pm

      Barbara,

      It’s on Muriel’s blog Voir Venir. In archives for the month of March. Just click on the title,”Happy 5th Birthday Macko.”

      Nancy

  3. 5 seniorsafari May 3, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Oh jeez! I must be having a ‘menopausal maniac moment’!
    I found the entry (Thank you) but all I see is 3 photos and nothing to click on for the slideshow. 😦

    • 6 Nancy May 3, 2009 at 5:21 pm

      Ok, Barbara,

      If it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t even know you could reply to people on the blog. So, you are allowed your moments.

      When you click on the title, Happy 5th Birthday, Macko, the first photo you see has an arrow and slide bar on the bottom, click on the arrow and it will start up, sometimes, if you computers slow like mine, you have to slide the bar back to the beginning. I love the music. Anyway, I just thought you might like to see the family. (I’m the chub, leaning on the couch, my husband is on the couch with his hands behind his head, my son Paul and daughter Dana (both with curly hair) are in the kitchen, Moo, is the one taking her own picture in the mirror, and Chris is in the blue and red shirt). My baby is the star.

      If you are unable to check it out, were not that good looking anyway. (Moo, said to see the slideshow you have to have flash, but if you saw her gallery slideshow you already have it. If not it’s free to down load.)

      Nancy 🙂

  4. 7 seniorsafari May 4, 2009 at 7:39 am

    How much fun was that?!!! I realized my AdBlock Plus was blocking the slideshow (I have it set up to block flash but turn it off when viewing YouTube, etc. I didn’t think about it blocking this).

    What a fun family! They had so much fun and I love the face painting. You have quite a group there. I even noticed a couple red-headed boys. My family are red-heads!
    I’m glad I finally got to watch it. Thank you for being so patient with me. 😉

    • 8 Nancy May 6, 2009 at 1:13 pm

      Barbara,

      I’m so glad you were finally able to see my family. Your such a nice person, I just wanted you to know who the crazy people were.

      Nancy 🙂

  5. 9 seniorsafari May 6, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Awww, thanks Nancy! Well then, I am very happy to meet such a crazy family!! 😉


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

