Dog Gone

Ok, I ran across an article about the elderly and pets. Apparently assisted living and long term care facilities are seeing a benefit of allowing their elderly residents maintain ownership of their animals. Apparently it helps with;   

Alleviating boredom; 

“Mom, do you think having a pet would help you with boredom?”
“I’m not bored, are you bored? If you are, try cleaning more often.”
“It’s not really that I’m bored, I miss my friends at work.”
“You have no friends.” 

Reducing stress; 

“Mom, they say having a pet reduces stress.”
“I didn’t have stress until you came here.”
“My mistake you don’t have stress, you give it. No mom I’m not stressed.” 

Easing depression; 

“Mom, a pet helps with depression.”
“I’m not depressed, are you?”
“A little.”
“So, a pet will help you?”
“No, I eat when I depressed the animal wouldn’t be safe.” 

Providing companionship; 

“Mom a dog will give you companionship?”
“Having a dog outside will not give me companionship.”
“You can have indoor pet?”
“And you can go back to your own home.” 

Lowering of blood pressure; 

Well believe it or not both of us do not have any problem with our blood pressure. But I’m sure my friends and family that visit us leave with theirs elevated.” 

Encouraging activity; 

My mother has been inactive for at least thirty years. If activity means, walking and picking up (you know what I’m talking about) I’ll remind you I’m a plus size older woman with a bad back.

 All kidding aside maybe the pet would become my mother’s focus instead of me. Besides I could always call the animal rights group if she got out of hand. 

So, I approached my husband with the idea of getting a pet, no way he’s got his hands full taking care of our children’s animals (two dogs, three cats, two tortoises and fish) when their gone. 

He also went on to tell me I would have to research the breed and temperament of the animal for the best fit to my mom. Piece of cake, no research needed for my mom there’s only three breeds; Pit Bull, Doberman or Rottweiler. 

After a few days a decision was made no dog. For the safety of the animal, its better we just go the pet store to visit.

4 Responses to “Dog Gone”


  1. 1 Barbara April 26, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Haha! What a funny post! But, seriously, you’ll just end up caregiving another –uh–pet. 😉

  2. 3 Jennifer April 26, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Hello Nancy
    I’m am enjoying reading your blog. Your neighbor Gail is a long time family friend and told me to check out you blog. If you ever whant a dog for a visit i will bring my dog down for your mom to enjoy and then go home. She is a 5 year old yorkie. My mom past away last year from cancer and Roxy was a angel with her. I think a full time dog would be even more work for you and your husband. Keep the blog going and thank you for the smiles. jennifer

    • 4 Nancy April 26, 2009 at 5:33 pm

      Hi, Jennifer
      Welcome to my insanity. Gail, is a sweetheart and sometimes my sounding board. I look forward to someday meeting you.
      Nancy


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

