I Can’t Eat Like You People

 If you read the entries titled; “Vomit”, “Coffee Water” and “Water Torture” you know that my mom has a few sentences that she repeats over and over everyday, that drive me crazy. 

Well, here’s another; “I can’t eat like you people.” Now what in the heck does she mean?

“Mom, here’s dinner.”
“What is it?”
“One pork chop, cut into bite size pieces, pan fried potatoes (about six slices) a spoonful of green beans and two tomato slices.”
“I can’t eat like you people.”
“Mom, it looks nice on the plate, here’s your fork. This is not a lot of food when you only eat one meal a day.”
“I can’t eat like you people.”
“Mom, what are you talking about; we put food on the fork, then in our mouth, chew and swallow. If you don’t eat like us, show me how you do it?”
“Don’t get smart.”
“I’m not getting smart, you keep saying “I can’t eat like you people” what does that mean?”
“I can’t eat a lot of food.”

She’s right, she doesn’t eat like us. My mom doesn’t do anything during the day to get hungry. She sleeps twelve to twenty hours, only to get up brush her teeth then sit in a recliner until its time to start over. So she doesn’t require a lot of food. I give her appetizer portion sized dinners, served on a bread plate. 

I don’t eat like you people.” It drives me crazy when I hear this all day long, because I never let my mom see me eat. Strange, not really. My mom loves to point out, that she is petite and I’m plus sized, she has a critical eye for everything I say or do. So, I choose not to let her see me put anything in my mouth. 

I eat breakfast when she takes her shower; lunch when she’s napping, dinner is when she’s down for the night. I am a stressful eater, and I’m stressed.

So here it is; “I don’t eat like her, because she’s always chewing out my —!”

2 Responses to “I Can’t Eat Like You People”


  1. 1 Schones Feuer April 24, 2009 at 9:06 am

    I have this conversation 6 to 7 times a day at my job, being plus sized and dealing with older ladies who are Very Serious about their weight and always have been. Different generation – these ladies.

    Take a deep breath, you can do it. =]


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

