Spring Break

Since I retired, I have been picking up my granddaughter from preschool. She stays with me a few hours until her mom and dad get home. We’ll play beauty shop, paint our nails outrageous colors, or just talk about silly stuff. Let’s face it, I’m at that special time in my life where I have more patience, more time, and realize how fast kids grow. 

Due to my granddaughter having problems with asthma, she stayed with me a few days prior to Spring break. Some of the things we talked about were; 

“Grandma, did you know that Santa has two lists, one if you good and one if your naughty?”
“Yes, I did know that.”
“What did you get from Santa, grandma?”
“Oh, my gosh Santa didn’t get me anything!”
“What did he get grandpa?”
“Yikes, he didn’t get anything either!”
“Grandma, you need to try harder.” 

“Grandma, why do you lock the bathroom door?”
“Well, remember the last time your little friend Morgan came over to visit with her mommy, and you showed them pictures you drew of your mommy naked?”
“Yes.”
“Well, I saw those pictures and you’re a talented artist. That’s why I lock the door.” 

“Grandma, did you know I’m a Christian?”
“Yes, Mac I did, we’re all Christians.”
“I’m going to tell everyone I’m a Christian.”
“Mac, you don’t need to tell people, they’ll know by the way you behave.”
(Silence)
“Grandma, I think I’ll just tell people.” 

“Grandma, I told my Sunday school teacher, if I’m late to church I might be in jail?”
“Mac, where did you hear that?”
“On the radio, in my dad’s car.”
“Well, if you don’t see grandma, after I see your daddy, I might be in jail.” 

“Grandma, did you know I’m now a teenager?”
“Mac, you just turned five, that’s not a teenager. You won’t be a teenager until you’re thirteen.”
“No, your wrong grandma, I’m not five I’m fiveteen.” 

“Grandma, why do some women, not you grandma, look like skeletons?”
“Mac, are you saying I’m fat?”
“No, grandma you’re just right.” 

After playing around she started to sweat and have trouble breathing; 

Mac, settle down your sweating and you’re going to have an asthma attack.”
“Don’t worry grandma, it’s not asthma, I’m having a hot flash.”

3 Responses to “Spring Break”


  1. 1 seniorsafari April 21, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Hahahaha!! What a hoot! I can so-o-o relate to her hot flashes! 😉

    • 2 Nancy April 24, 2009 at 11:23 am

      Barbara,

      I enjoyed visiting your site(s). I didn’t realize I could reply back on the blog. Oh, this could be dangerous.

      Nancy 🙂

  2. 3 joey April 21, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    This blog’s where its happening. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

