Medication

I had left a message for my mom’s doctor for additional medication to help with the off and on again pain which is typical for shingles. To my surprise I got a callback on Monday (President’s day) at 9:30am. The doctor called in a prescription and it was ready for pick up. The prescription is for an antidepressant that is commonly prescribed in a lower does to ease the pain from shingles.

I have been in the house 24/7 for five rainy days. No errands no visitors, I have done puzzles, listen to music and watched so much TV I’m bored. I was looking forward to going to the pharmacy. When I came home I decided to read the informational sheet that came with my mom’s medication.

The informational sheet stated this medication may be used to treat chronic pain and other conditions as determined by your doctor. I keep reading and in black and white states commonly used to treat the pain caused by shingles. 

So far so good. “What the heck!” 

In bold capital letters BEFORE USING THIS MEDICINE: WARNING: ANTIDEPRESSANTS MAY INCREASE THE RISK OF SUICIDAL THOUGHTS OR ACTIONS in children, teenagers, and young adults. However, depression and certain other mental problems may also increase the risk of suicide. (Ok, this does not pertain to us mom would be taking it for pain not depression) I keep reading, the way I understand it is if your thinking of suicide this medication may or may not help. That’s comforting? Down the line it states family and caregivers must closely watch patients who take this medicine. I always watch my mom, in fact I overprotect her. But I am a little concerned for my safety at this point. 

CAUTION:  CONTACT THE DOCTOR AT ONCE if new, worsened or sudden symptoms such as depressed mood (no); anxious (no); restless (no); irritable behavior (oh,oh); panic attacks (no) or any unusual change in mood or behavior occur. DO NOT DRIVE (me crazy) OPERATE MACINERY, OR DO ANYTHING ELSE THAT COULD BE DANGEROUS until you know how you’ll react to this medicine.

LIMIT YOUR ALCOHOL CONSUMPTION (ok, I started to sweat with this one until I remembered it would be her consumption not mine that their talking about). ALCOHOL, HOT WEATHER, EXERCISE AND FEVER can increase dizziness. My mom doesn’t go out in hot weather or the sun. She never exercises and doesn’t have a fever. 

POSSIBLE SIDE EFFECTS: All the regular stuff, dry mouth, drowsiness, dizziness, headache, nausea, diarrhea, etc. Until I reached a line that said or an increased appetite especially for sweets. I have never seen or heard of this side effect before. I did not tell her about this new medication and it’s been one week to the day and I’m happy to say we never had to use it. Her shingles are dried and she has not complained about pain since the first few days. I however will take heed and follow the directions given by the prescription by staying cool, out of the sun, eat sweets and will not exercise.

1 Response to “Medication”


  1. 1 Mitzi March 3, 2009 at 4:57 am

    First blog I read after wakeup from sleep today!


Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,476 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

