It Takes a Village

Well, I’m back from my vacation and to my surprise, I had guest visitors on my blog. My whole family knows all my passwords from banking to this place. So I shouldn’t be surprised that when the cat is away, the mice will play. Well, turns out, one is just like me and the other likes to run around half-naked. I hope they kept everyone entertained. Now I’ll ask their husbands why they had so much time to play. (If you hadn’t figured out from previous entries, my kids and their spouses have their own businesses or work in a family business.)

In preparation for my escape, I cooked the day before to ensure the first sitter for my mom had enough rations for week 1. There were Fajitas, Italian Chicken, Spaghetti, Alaskan Salmon, Egg, Tuna, Green Salad, and Beans. All this was for my favorite uncle (we’ll call him Big C). Big C is my mom’s older brother by 18mos. He’s 86 years young and volunteered for the first shift.

The differences between Big C and my mom are as follows:

  • My uncle exercises daily. On a good day, my mom walks 150ft.
  • Big C still drives. My mom drives me crazy.
  • Big C cooks. My mom hasn’t cooked in 25 years.
  • My uncle still mows his yard and washes his car. My mom likes to tell people they missed a spot.
  • My uncle’s plumbing is in good working order. My mom has required a catheter daily for the last 5 years.

Now, while I understand my mom has had knees, hips, and elbows replaced. You must understand that she likes to be catered to. She will admit that she likes to and expects to be taken care of because she has always been pampered.

Second week, my favorite Aunt S came in, the youngest of the sitters coming in at 72+. She took responsibility for cooking, haircuts, and a trip to the mall. To my mom, it’s like Disneyland. My aunt will do everything for her.

Last but not least, Dana, she took over catheter duty. She also would tell Big C or Aunt S when mom was drinking enough fluids.

Everyone reported she ate and was pleasant.

When I returned, she hadn’t eaten in 7+ hours. Refused dinner and ate a Drumstick ice cream. Yes, I am aware it’s a game. I beg her to eat, she refuses. I worry and she wins.

0 Responses to “It Takes a Village”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Back in the Day

Love me? Add me!

Lookie Loos

  • 14,493 visits to my amazingly great blog of epic proportions.
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

